Why Libraries and Librarians are Amazing

mother-of-all-libraries-14

Libraries: because you cannot have a conscience without a memory.

For some time now I’ve been meaning to write about why libraries (and librarians!) are important. After all, I’m a child of the library. In particular, I’m a child of this library, where I spent many happy hours growing up. As the son of a blue-collar family that was anything but “bookish”, well, I don’t know where I’d be without libraries.

What follows are a collection of random thoughts (linky-blurbs, really) about the general amazingness of libraries and librarians:

  • Librarians fought, and are still fighting, surveillance-state idiocy like the PATRIOT Act.
  • On a lighter note, the Internet Archive also has this collection of classic MS-DOS games that you can play in your browser. When I saw titles like Street Fighter, Sim City, Donkey Kong, and Castle Wolfenstein in this list, I have to admit I kinda freaked out. The future is amazing. Growing up, I had to memorize my friends’ phone numbers! And now we have magic tiny emulated computers in our browser tabs.

See also:

Never trust a corporation to do a library’s job.

(Image courtesy Cher Amio under Creative Commons license.)

Leave a Reply

